The Business of Forgiveness

“Forgiveness of myself and others releases me from the past. Forgiveness is the answer to almost every problem. Forgiveness is a gift to myself. I forgive, and I set myself free.”

~Louise Hay

Powerful words and, for many of us, difficult words to say. If we want to create our authentic lives, we have to be willing to put the past to rest, and that means forgiving everyone and everything in our past that we believe has kept us, or is still keeping us, from living an authentic, happy life. That includes forgiving ourselves as well. Forgiving ourselves for causing our own unhappiness is probably the hardest pill to swallow and most often is the place we need to start from if we are to make any headway in our journey to wholeness and happiness.

I know lots of people, myself included, who swear that they have put the past to rest and have done heaps of forgiveness, but haven’t quite gotten the message that forgiving ourselves is an ongoing job. When it comes to ourselves, our business is forgiveness. Let me give you an example.

I was in a really crummy mood yesterday. I’m still not sure exactly what got me there. Perhaps it wasn’t just one thing, but a series of things that, like dominoes, just continued to fall until my whole day was spent in negativity. When I finally sat myself down and got a hold of my emotions, I automatically went into blame mode: “You write about this stuff, for heaven’s sake! You’re supposed to be this being of happiness and joy, and yet here you are sabotaging a perfectly good day because of some computer glitches and other people’s bad attitudes. Some spiritual person you are!”

It’s so easy to fall back into patterns of behavior that we thought we’d left behind. If you realize that coming into this new awareness of the power of our thoughts and the freedom to choose better ones is a recent phenomenon in our lives, while the pattern of negative thoughts and behaviors have been with us since we were kids, you realize that Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither are we. It takes a lifetime of constantly being aware of our thoughts, aware of the power of the present moment to turn things around, and the power of forgiveness when we forget these things, to change a crummy mood to a lovely mood.

After I took the reins of my thoughts back from my ego, I sat myself down and did one of my favorite Davidji meditations: “Today, I begin again.” We all get another chance, day after day, moment after moment, to take back our runaway thoughts and direct them towards happiness. Discovering our authenticity, and living it every day, is not a once and done thing; it’s an ongoing, moment-to-moment journey, and in every moment we have to be willing to forgive ourselves when we step off the path:

I forgive, and I set myself free.

This week’s assignment over on the Home Page is going to ask us to practice forgiveness. Just like writing and meditating, forgiveness is also a practice. Our goal is to get really, really good at it!

Peace and blessings.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Business of Forgiveness

  1. Bard I love your questions and Have them in my journal for tomorrows question- will be interesting to see what card i draw 🙂 Yes forgiveness is so big on the self-love path. Love the quote from louise hay and also love Brandon Bays Journey work on forgiveness. So powerful xxx

    Like

  2. Barb thank you for your transparency and honoring your process. Returning home to ourselves with love, self-compassion and forgiveness is so essential no matter how many spiritual practices we engage in daily. I love the mantra, breathe and begin again, similar to Brandon Bays. Sending you much love and gratitude today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

