One Of A Kind

I was listening to a talk the other day on finding your life’s purpose. I was gathering material for a chapter in a book that I am working on, and as I sat there taking notes I suddenly paused when one of the speakers said: “There is no one else on earth exactly like you. You are the only one. So when you discover what your purpose is, you must follow it and share it with the world, because there is no one else who can do it the way that only you can.”

That statement really blew me away. If that was true, than all of those people who have made tremendous contributions to the world, like finding cures for diseases, inventing things that have changed the way we live our lives, discovering electricity, for heaven’s sake … all those things could only have been done by the people who did them because there was no one else exactly like them who could have done it! So how do I feel about the idea that there is only one of me, there will never be another person exactly like me, and that what I do, I do because no one else can do it the way that I can? Quite honestly, my first reaction was fear: “Wow, Barb, no pressure there, right?” Then I gave it some more thought. I have always known that I wanted to be a writer. I’ve known it since the age of 5. So writing, or the sharing of thoughts, ideas and stories, is my passion. Since no one else has lived my actual life, I am clearly the only one who can write from my perspective. Sure, I have sisters, and they grew up with me in the same household, with the same parents, in pretty much the same time period give or take a few years, but neither of them have looked at the world through the eyes of a writer. Writers see the world in an entirely different context than non-writers do, and only this writer, who grew up in this neighborhood, at this period in time, can share her stories with the world as only she can. Therefore, in the final analysis, I guess the speaker was absolutely correct.

So what do we do with this information? We continue to create our authentic lives and share our passions with the world just as authentically because that is who we are, and there is no one on the earth who can do it the way that we can. We are absolutely one of a kind. It reminds me of something a co-worker once said to me in jest as part of a team building exercise: “Barb, when they made you, they threw away the mold.” I bet she had no idea how right she was!

This week’s assignment is going to ask you to examine this concept and see what effect it has on how you are creating your authentic life. As always, have fun, and keep writing!

Peace and blessings.

17 thoughts on “One Of A Kind

  1. You know, Barb, I’ve often felt the same way, wondering what BIG contribution I’m here to make to the world. And then I’m reminded of a wonderful book I read by Rabbi David Cooper “God is a Verb.” One of the most impactful learnings I received was that yes, we all play an important part in the world, even if it is to stand at the Western Wall in Old Jerusalem and beg for coins. The Rabbi explains that he always gives to the beggars because he recognizes them as doing what they are supposed to do in the world — beg. And in that begging it gives context for the rest of us, challenging our hearts, yin and yang! When I remember his words, I scale down the grandness of the contribution I imagine myself providing and just breathe. I allow myself to be just as I am.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Recently I’ve been with the question of, What have I needed to experience in my life? As I’ve sat with this question , I see that the experiences that have made me who I am are part of my ever-evolving purpose. I just get to live it. After all, the world would not be complete without our particular vibration, would it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

