It’s Not Easy Being Green

 

kermit

I saw this poster hanging on the glass door of my local library and couldn’t resist taking a picture of it. It fits right in with our topic for today.

Over the last two weeks we began our journey to use the tool of writing to create an authentic life by, first, finding out what an authentic life feels like, and then using that feeling to feather our nest, so to speak, by making a home for ourselves that supports those feelings.

So we know how we want to feel, we have a warm and comforting home that supports us … now what? What do we do when we wake up in the morning in our good-feeling home?

One of things I have learned in my own quest to live an authentic life is that in order to know what we want to do with our lives, we first have to find out what our relationship is with the word “do.” How many times have you had someone ask you, “So, what do you do?” as if what you did for a living defined who you were as a person. If you’re reading this right now, chances are you are already on board with the idea that what we “do” is not who we are. However, so many people still believe that if they quit their jobs to pursue their dreams, they will live in poverty. Author Marci Shimoff,  in her book, Happy For No Reason, calls this a “happy when” life: “I’ll be happy when the kids leave home and I can follow my passion; I’ll be happy when I retire and can travel; I’ll be happy when the mortgage is paid off and I am debt free, etc.” You get the picture.

Others dream longingly of living each day doing what they love, but come up with a hundred different excuses why it just wouldn’t work for them: “I don’t have enough money; I’m not smart enough; I don’t have the credentials; I don’t have the right contacts; My family would never support me in this; etc.” This is where Kermit comes in. He is the most surprising choice for a mega TV and movie star that was ever conceived … “Eats flies. Dates a Pig. Hollywood Star.” But in the mind of the late, brilliant Jim Henson, he was the perfect choice. He was Mr. Average. Nothing special to look at, but with enough love to fill a world with song. Who are we to say no?

Do what you love. Love what you do. Even if you have to keep a regular job going while you pursue your passion or interests. In fact, doing what makes you authentically happy doesn’t necessarily have to translate into a job or a career. It can just be what you do to make your heart sing  – even if it’s dating a pig!

This week our assignment is going to focus on what makes our heart sing. So hop (pardon the frog pun) on over to the home page and sharpen your pencil. Today we take a real joy ride!

Peace and blessings.

7 thoughts on “It’s Not Easy Being Green

  1. Do what you love! Love what you do! I could not agree more with you and Kermit’s wisdom Barb. Thank you for speaking your truth and living it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

