“We Now Interrupt Your Life To Bring You This Important Bulletin ….”

I had an entirely different blog post planned for today but, as often happens in life, the best made plans often go astray. In my case they were blown right off the map!

On Monday night we were hit with a storm of biblical proportions. I have to say that I have never been so scared in my entire life, and as I am what is politely referred to in modern society as an “Elder,” we’re talking about more than just a few years here. The wind gusts were clocked at 70 mph, the hail was the size of pennies, the rain was enough to re-float the Titanic, and I was sure that the roof was going to be blown off the top of my apartment building … and I, of course, am on the top floor. You know, that apartment with the fantastic view … the one that saw destruction coming right at her? Anyway, I remembered my training from days gone by and found the inner-most room in the place away from windows. As I live in a studio apartment, the only other “room” is the bathroom and the little alcove outside it that is home to the linen and coat closets. That is where I hid with my cell phone in one hand, a flash light in the other, and prayers falling out of my lips as fast as the rain outside. I heard trees cracking and crashing all around me, and the sound of the hail on the roof and windows was deafening. In that moment, the draft of the blog post I had planned for today was sitting unfinished on the desk; the subject was “Waiting for the Right Time.” I started to chuckle, whether from sheer terror or the irony of the topic. I’m still not sure.

There is no “right time” to live an authentic life. There is only now, this moment. This moment is all we have. Waiting for the lights to go out and the roof to come down is not the time to prepare for a storm. The time to make sure you have batteries for your flash lights and radios, or a stock pile of candles and jugs of water, is before the storm gets here. The same is true of living our authentic lives. We need to create them, and then live them, now.

Standing there in the doorway to the bathroom, I heard the voice of my late, sweet teacher, Dr. Wayne Dyer, in my head (he does that a lot, I’ve noticed): “Even in Nature, no storm lasts forever.” It’s true, we have to be prepared to face the storms of life, but we still need to live our authentic lives in every moment, the stormy ones as well as the sunny ones. And, the storm will end. And, the sun will shine again. And, we just may get another chance. Don’t wait until it’s too late. Live your authentic lives now, out loud and in full throttle. Mother Nature doesn’t hold back, why should we?

This week’s writing assignment is all about weathering storms. Go for it!

Peace and Blessings!

5 thoughts on ““We Now Interrupt Your Life To Bring You This Important Bulletin ….”

  1. What a great post, Barb. I know it must have felt frightening in the moment, but you’ve such a great perspective about the whole incident. I admit I shared your chuckle at this part… “In that moment, the draft of the blog post I had planned for today was sitting unfinished on the desk; the subject was “Waiting for the Right Time.” I started to chuckle, whether from sheer terror or the irony of the topic. I’m still not sure.”

    Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

