Let’s Live To Be 120!

I recently read an article by Ilchi Lee, New York Times Best Selling Author, passionate advocate for sustainability, and a leader in human brain potential development. The title of the article was: “Let’s Live To Be 120!” According to Lee, scientists have discovered that the human body has the potential to live 120 years. Advances in technology and medicine aside, Lee suggests that how we view our lives, our determination and, as he puts it, “living from the offensive instead of the defensive,” can help us to live way beyond current expectations. The question I would ask is: “Why?”

Lee explains that there is so much more he wants to accomplish in life and that, having made the conscious decision to live to 120, he sees many more years ahead of him to learn, grow, create, and give back to the world. That is indeed a noble ideal and one we can all get behind, I’m sure. Imagine what new discoveries and adventures we can witness with that kind of longevity! It reminded me of all the things I have witnessed in my own lifetime, things I never would have imagined when I was a kid: space exploration, a man walking on the moon, the Civil Rights Movement, Women’s Liberation, the first black president, to name a few. Here’s a funny side story about all of that:

I returned to college in my 30’s, graduating in 1986 at the age of 36 with a B.A. in Religious Studies. One of our Cultural Studies classes involved interviewing someone who had been around a while (a.k.a. old) about significant moments in history. As the average age of my classmates was 20, I, of course, senior citizen that I was in their eyes, was sought after for an interview. They asked me questions about Viet Nam, President Kennedy’s assignation, the moon landing, and Martin Luther King, Jr. It just stuck me as hysterical that they thought that, in my mid 30’s, I was a walking museum. Can you imagine what they would have thought if I was 120? “

The flip side of this coin, however, is the fear that along with the great strides in knowledge, we will also see the same in terms of war, hatred, and separation. If the world has not learned their lesson after all of these centuries since Cain and Able, what hope do we have for the future? Maybe, just maybe, a lot. As long as hope is alive, anything is possible. I’d love to be able to sit in front of a room full of college students 50 years from now and share with them how my generation was the one who brought lasting peace and love to the whole world. How’s that for a reason to live to 120?

Peace and blessings.

P.S. Get ready to let your imagination soar with this week’s writing assignment located on the home page. Have a blast!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Live To Be 120!

Leave a Reply

