The Gift of Nothing

Finally, after weeks of sorting, downsizing, packing, and then unpacking, I am finally sitting here doing absolutely nothing. Or, I was right before I started to write this blog. I wasn’t thinking about where I put the pack of lightbulbs I bought,  or if I should check to see if I have enough cat food.  I wasn’t thinking about which blog is due when, what the next writing assignment was going to be, or even what I was going to make for dinner. I certainly wasn’t thinking about the big picture that is my life, my work going forward, or what I would or wouldn’t eat on Thanksgiving. I was doing nothing, and in that nothingness, I was perfect and so was my life.

When I practice doing nothing (and it is indeed a practice), nothing is more important than that I breathe, drop down into my body and connect with the presence of all that is around me. I feel the chair beneath me, my feet touching the floor, the cushion behind my back and the reflection of the white snow on my face through the window. I notice the squirrel on the opposite roof slipping and sliding in the snow. I watch three crows soaring across the sky with the wind. I am one with everything and everything is one with me. Most importantly, for a writer, I start to feel the words that I will write in my journal when I am done with my “Nothing Practice.” Just as meditation helps us to connect to our authentic selves, nothing practice helps us to authentically connect to the rest of the world. ” Behind writing, behind words is no words,” author and teacher Natalie Goldberg tells us. “We need to know about that place. It gives us a larger perspective from which to handle language.”

As soon as I am done with this blog and post this week’s writing assignment, I may go back to nothing for a while. It’s a good place to be for a writer.

Peace and blessings.

P.S. Don’t forget to check out this week’s new assignment on the home page.

10 thoughts on “The Gift of Nothing

  1. The gift of doing nothing is the most important lesson I have gained from my meditation and mindfulness practice. My ability to transform my need to be doing in order to have value and worth has been liberating, empowering and healing. Thank you so much Barb for the journaling prompts connected to your blogs! I am deeply grateful for your generosity and encouragement!

    Like

  2. ‘Nothing’ is a precious gift, indeed. I feel so inspired by your beautiful message that I am going to set a timer for 10 minutes and give myself that gift right now. Bless you, Barb, for your brilliance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

