Failure Is Not An Option

My favorite concept on the idea of being wrong, as in right vs wrong, came from the fabulous Louise Hay, teacher, author and founder of Hay House Publishing, the largest publisher of spiritual and transformational books and media in the world. She said that we are never really wrong: “We are always doing the best we can with the knowledge, understanding and experience we have at that moment.” Wow. What a concept: we’re never really wrong. So it would follow that if we’re never wrong, then there is no such thing as failure, right?

Failure is defined as a “lack of success,” or, “the action or state of not functioning.” So I suppose that saying that you failed at something depends on what your definition is of success. When you were a toddler and just learning how to walk, did you or your mother consider you a failure because you fell down numerous times before you learned how to keep your balance? Were you a failure when you tried to feed yourself and spilled your food down the front of your bib? I don’t think so. So why would we label ourselves a failure if we simply haven’t mastered something yet? Or, in a different context, why would we call ourselves a failure if we make a decision and it doesn’t work out?

Let me give you an example. Several years ago I was working in a job that I hated and that was so steeped in negative energy that I could almost feel the life force draining out of me … seriously! So when an opportunity presented itself to me to move to another job, even though I had a few reservations about it, I decided that anything had to be better than where I was. Sadly, the new job ended up not being what I had thought or hoped it would be. It lasted only a few months, but long enough for both myself and my employer to agree that it was not working out for either of us. She graciously agreed to “fire” me for the record so that I could apply for unemployment while I looked for something else. In the time that followed, I ended up with the gift of some breathing space that I used to look at what I really wanted and to enjoy the time to explore. So, would you say that I had made a bad decision, or that I was wrong, or a failure, because I ended up in another job I hated, or would you admit that my “bad” decision led me to where I needed to be?

So today, in keeping with the idea that failure is not an option, I hereby declare that the word failure be omitted from the English language, thereby leaving us with just the word “option,” and isn’t that what creating our authentic life is all about, choosing an option that appeals to us and seeing where it leads?

Make a choice. Today. Right now. If it doesn’t pan out the way you hoped it would, choose something different. Honestly, the world won’t end, the sun will still rise tomorrow, and you’ll still be okay

Blessings and peace!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Failure Is Not An Option

Leave a Reply

